Gondwana Rainforests of Australia World Heritage natural criteria

N.B. you are viewing the archived 2015 report.

Return to the current 2017 report.

Key finding

Gondwana Rainforests of Australia meets three World Heritage natural criteria: representing major stages of earth's history; significant ongoing ecological and biological processes; and contain the most important and significant habitat.

Gondwana Rainforests of Australia (information applies statewide, map locations are for reference only)

The Gondwana Rainforests of Australia comprises the major remaining areas of rainforest in South East Queensland and northeast New South Wales.

It represents outstanding examples of major stages of earth’s evolutionary history, ongoing geological and biological processes, and exceptional biological diversity. There is a wide range of plant and animal lineages and communities with ancient origins in Gondwana. Many of these survive only within this area.

The Gondwana Rainforests also provides the principal habitat for many threatened species of plants and animals.

The Gondwana Rainforests of Australia was declared a World Heritage site in 1986.

More information:

Indicator: Area reflects the scope and breadth of world heritage natural criteria

Gondwana Rainforests of Australia world heritage natural criteria identified by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), World Heritage Convention.

Gondwana Rainforests of Australia world heritage natural criteria

World heritage natural criteria Criteria summary

Download data from Queensland Government data